Posted in Books

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken 

It’s our choices that matter in the end. Not wishes. Not words. Not promises. 

In tenth grade I remember reading the Darkest Minds series with a good friend of mine (What’s up Carl!). The books sucked us in from the beginning and baffled our 16 year old minds. Little did I know that the same author would blow my mind four years later with a completely different book. 

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken is a beautifully told story of time travel, family, and love. All three things are prominent throughout the book, and ultimately take over the story completely. But the one thing that stuck out to me was the connection between families.  

This book made me think about those in my life and to what length I would go to just to protect them. Obviously I can’t time travel (so sad), but if I could it would be interesting to meet family members that were gone long before I was born. I would love to travel back in time and get to know those people that started my family tree. It would be interesting to see what qualities still live on in the family members I have today. Do we share the same eyes? The same nose? Maybe the same personality? How did we get to where we are today? What kind of journey did it take? All of these questions filled my mind as I read the story of Etta and Nicholas’ journey through time. 

This book also includes the differences between our time and the time Etta and Nicholas journey through (1700s and 1800s). The issue of race, gender, and class play a part of the story and is realistically/wonderfully written by Bracken. It makes you realize how different things were and how truly lucky we are to live in a society that accepts all people. It can be a bit of a reality check when it comes to issues we are facing today. 

If you’re a fan of Alexandra Bracken like I am, I would definitely recommend this book. Even if you have no idea who Alexandra Bracken is and you’re just looking for an interesting read, this is the book you should try out. It has adventure, romance, history, etc. So, go pick up Passengers and take a journey through time. 

I hope you enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

