Posted in Books, Quote

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

One for sorrow, two for joy, three for a girl… three for a girl. I’m stuck on three, I just can’t get any further. My head is thick with sounds, my mouth thick with blood. Three for a girl. I can hear magpies — they’re laughing, mocking me, a raucous cackling. A tiding. Bad tidings. I can see them now, black against the sun. Not the birds, something else. Someone’s coming. Someone is speaking to me. Now look. Now look what you made me do. 

The Girl on the Train reminded me a lot of Gone Girl, which I LOVE! It’s a thriller that’s full of suspense. The type that leaves you hanging on until the last sentence. 

I love novels that go through different narrators. Each chapter is an adventure with a different character. It is a lot like trying to fit the puzzle pieces together, but there’s just one side of the story missing. It isn’t until the last few pages that everything starts to unravel and you might find yourself thinking, “How did I not see this?!”. With an unreliable main narrator (much like Gone Girl) it is easy to get caught up on the obvious. 

I definitely recommend this book for any Gillian Flynn fans out there, or if you’re just looking for a good nail biter to keep you entertained. Paula Hawkins is definitely a name I will be watching for in the future. 

I hope you enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

