Posted in Books

Wild by Cheryl Strayed

I started Wild when my family and I took our trip to Gatlinburg. I thought “How cool would it be to read a book about nature in the middle of the woods?” Well, I didn’t get much reading done on that trip, and I wasn’t fully aware of what I was getting myself into when I started the book. I was expecting just a story about a woman going out into the wild to travel along this trail. Boy was I wrong. 

Wild is more than I ever expected it to be. It does include nature, but most of all it’s about a journey. The journey of a woman who has lost someone dear to her, and now she is searching for herself by walking the Pacific Crest Trail (PCT) . There are so many miles, obstacles, and characters that play a huge part in the development of herself and the book. 

When reading Wild it made me think of how I live my own life. How, in this day of age, it’s rare for anyone to put down a cellphone to take in the world around them. Much less hike over 1,000 miles in the wilderness. I know there is no way I could hike that many miles physically, but mentally? I had never considered that part. Most people probably don’t. 

Wild made me realize that those you love will probably not be in your life forever. Your parents won’t always be by your side. Your kids won’t always live at home. Your sibling(s) will start their own family with their own life. Friends don’t always stay friends. Spouses don’t always stay married. It made me want to put down my phone (and any other distraction) so I could fully appreciate the ones around me. Not only the people I take for granted, but the things I take for granted: stars, trees, sunsets, food, clean water, a roof over my head, and the list goes on and on. 

If you are looking for a book that will give you a push in the right direction, I would recommend Wild. To me, it’s a book about self-actualization, courage, and letting go of things that have been weighing you down. 

I hope you enjoy. 

Leave a Reply

