Posted in Books

Talking as Fast as I Can by Lauren Graham

I wondered what it would be like to put someone I loved so much down for eight years and then pick her up again. I wondered if rebooting Gilmore Girls could be as gratifying as doing the series was the first time, if the show would feel as fresh and quirky and smart and speedy as it had been, if returning to Stars Hollow after all those years would be as wonderful as I’d dreamed it would be.

Spoiler alert: it was.

Talking as Fast as I Can by Lauren Graham (page 6)

Admittedly, I was late to the Gilmore Girl fandom. But, in my defense, I was only three when the first episode aired. Thanks to Netflix, I can now say I am a full blown Gilmore Girls addict. Needless to say when it was announced the show was coming back for Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life I was ecstatic. I counted down the days until I got to see what Lorelai and Rory were up to. I was itching to know those final four words (don’t worry, no spoilers here!). But let’s back up a little bit…

After finishing all seven season of Gilmore Girls I was in love with the girls who played the two main characters, Lauren Graham and Alexis Bledel. That may sound a little crazy, but I loved their chemistry, their acting skills, and just admired their work all together. But, for all intensive purposes, let’s focus on Lauren Graham.

After a littler research, the next thing I chose to watch on Netflix was Parenthood. Again, I was late to the party.. but hey, I got there. The show quickly became one of my favorites, and I again was in awe of Lauren Graham’s acting ability.

When the news came out that she had written a book from “Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls (and everything in between)” I immediately preordered it months before the release date. Finally, with this semester coming to an end, I am able to pick up her book and fully enjoy it. I was hooked by the first sentence. I have only finished the introduction and I know it will become one of my favorite books.

So, if you are a fan of Gilmore Girls, Parenthood, or any of Lauren Graham’s work, I suggest you get her new book and take in all of it’s glory. Because I can already tell, it’s going to be a good one.

 

Leave a Reply

