Posted in life, Personal

Plans

One of my professors asked the class, “Where do you see yourself in ten years?”  Now, this may be a question a lot of people have encountered, I’ve heard it a few times myself. Lately though, I have been thinking a lot about my future and this question really struck a cord inside of me. 

Where will I be in 10 years? As a 19 year old college sophomore I realize that I need to really think about it. So far it’s just been basics and working on grades. Now I see that soon I’ll be making life altering decisions about my career path. I’ll need to apply for internships. I should be looking for a better job now that might sustain me better. I need to be building my resume. 

There comes a time, I believe, that everyone realizes that their life is about to change. It may not be immediately, and it may not even be soon, but deep inside everyone feels it. It’s that gut wrenching, “I should really take this all in” or “I can’t be nonchalant about assignments now. They matter” maybe even, “This may be the last time I can do this”. 

Thinking about the future can be scary. Realizing that it’s closer than you think is a bit terrifying. The future is inevitable. We all have plans. So where will you be in ten years? Maybe you’re already working your dream job, or maybe you’re a high school senior about to embark on a new journey. Anything can happen at any time. Whatever it may be, I will share with you something I have learned to do over the past year or so. 

Take a step back. Look at the life you’re living. Is it what you want? Are you on a rewarding path or a destructive path? Look at those around you. Do they help your performance or do they hold you back? Take a deep breath and figure out what’s next. It is nice to take life day by day, but sometimes a little planning is required. The future is near, and every step you take is a deciding factor of how it will play out. Choose wisely. 

Leave a Reply

