Posted in life

Small Town Living 

There are times when I just can’t wait to get away from the small town I live in. I don’t know what it is about it, but some days it just gets to be a little much. But one thing I do know, I’ll end up back here. 

I don’t think I could ever leave the polite conversation behind forever. I don’t want to leave the church I grew up at. I burst with pride when the community comes together to support the school or a town member in need. I love that feeling of belonging somewhere. I grew up here, all of my memories are ingrained in this town. 

I’ll never forget the time I was a part of the homecoming parade with people screaming my name from the side of the road. I felt like royalty. I’ll always remember what it felt like to step out on the home field with my glove on my left hand and my friends surrounding me. I’ll always love getting, “Congratulations! We’re so proud of you!” when I accomplish something relatively small. We’re not just a community, we’re a family. 

People can say what they like about small towns. Shoot, I may say a few unappealing things about it from time to time. But in the end, I know I will end up back here. It’s always been home, and it always will be. 

Leave a Reply

