Posted in Books

My First Classic

For the longest I have been itching to try and read more classics. I have continuously put it off because I keep finding different excuses to use; “Well, I got this book first” or “This one is supposed to be really good, I should read it first”. I think a lot of people are scared of the classics. They’re written in a different English than we’re used to, they require a bit of thinking, and most of them are not entirely considered ‘leisurely’. In school many were required to read these classics. I love reading, but when someone tells me I have to read something I don’t entirely like to comply. I like to choose my own books, my own reading list.

Recently I have decided to read a classic for the first time by myself. I read Pride and Prejudice in high school as an assignment and really enjoyed it. It was confusing to me, but once it was discussed in class I understood it better. The first classic I have decided to tackle is Jane Eyre. So far, I can understand it pretty well. It requires a lot more concentration than I’m used to giving books that I read on my own, but I have found that I like that. I really like to be totally and completely focused on the book I’m reading. The writing style is different, but it makes sense. I have to reread some paragraphs to make sure I’m fully comprehending what is being said. I am not far into the book, but it is quickly becoming a favorite.

If you have ever thought about trying a classic alone, I fully think you should. If you don’t enjoy it, now you know. If you love it, there are some GREAT stories out there waiting for you to discover them. Reading is something that furthers your intelligence and takes you out of the world around you. Why not travel back to the 1800’s? Why not step out of your comfort zone and try reading something new? I say do it. You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

